Can a landlord charge a cleaning fee?

Can Landlord Charge For Carpet Replacement?

Best Answer

Landlords are permitted to deduct from security deposits for damage or excessive filth, but not for ordinary wear and tear.

Typically, landlords may charge tenants for any cleaning or repairs necessary to restore the rental unit to its condition at the beginning of the tenancy.

Insights In Law: Landlord and Tenants legal Rights

Previous QuestionCan landlord charge more than security deposit California?
Next QuestionDoes a pet deposit cover carpet damage?

Related Questions

Can landlords charge a cleaning fee?

Landlords are permitted to deduct from security deposits for damage or excessive filth, but not for ordinary wear and tear. Typically, landlords may charge tenants for any cleaning or repairs necessary to restore the rental unit to its condition at the beginning of the tenancy.

Can a landlord charge a cleaning fee in Florida?

Florida rental laws state that a landlord can store a renter's security deposit in three different ways. Tenant surety bond premiums typically cost a tenant about 10% to 20% of the deposit. The landlord must also pay the tenant 5% interest annually on the bond.

Can landlords charge a monthly pet fee?

The other charges $900 a month with a $150 refundable deposit and $15 a month pet rent. While many landlords are only willing to allow pets with specific rules, such as one pet per household or a small weight limit, other landlords may be willing to accept your three cats or large dog if you agree to pay a monthly fee.

Three common mistakes landlords make with late fees

Can a landlord charge for cleaning costs?

Typically, landlords may charge tenants for any cleaning or repairs necessary to restore the rental unit to its condition at the beginning of the tenancy. Landlords may not, however, use the tenant's security deposit to cover the costs of ordinary wear and tear.

Can a landlord charge a monthly fee for pets?

The other charges $900 a month with a $150 refundable deposit and $15 a month pet rent. While many landlords are only willing to allow pets with specific rules, such as one pet per household or a small weight limit, other landlords may be willing to accept your three cats or large dog if you agree to pay a monthly fee.

Can a Massachusetts landlord charge an application fee?

In Massachusetts a landlord can charge for the first and last month's rent, security deposit and key deposit. A landlord or its agent MAY NOT CHARGE AN APPLICATION FEE or charge for a Credit Check.

Why do landlords charge pet fees?

Typically, pet owners pay an additional deposit during the lease signing that covers any wear and tear the pet does to the rental. The fee is relatively small — usually $35 or less — and is considered a discretionary charge, meaning the landlord can legally include this extra charge in your lease, in most cases.

How much can a landlord charge for cleaning?

However, the general rule of thumb is that labor cost is $40 to $70 per hour for repair work, and charges of $40 per hour for cleaning are usually approved by the courts. Q I entered into a 12-month lease that spells out that we are required to give 60-days' notice before vacating the apartment.

Move-out checklist for tenant cleaning | Rent Like a Pro

Can a landlord charge a pet fee for a service dog?

Pet fees. Service and assistance animals are not technically pets and owners do not have to pay pet fees. The landlord, however, can charge a security deposit and may still seek money from the tenant if there is any damage caused by the animal to the home.

Can a hotel charge a cleaning fee for a service dog?

Hotels are not permitted to charge guests for cleaning the hair or dander shed by a service animal. However, if a guest's service animal causes damages to a guest room, a hotel is permitted to charge the same fee for damages as charged to other guests.

Will the landlord charge a non refundable fee in lieu of a security deposit?

However, in most areas, security deposits and non-refundable fees do not preclude each other. If it seems beneficial, charge a lower security deposit in lieu of the move-in fee.

Does GoFundMe charge a fee?

GoFundMe fees. The platform doesn't take anything from individual campaigns, instead charging a 2.9 percent payment processing fee and $0.30 per donation. Charitable campaigns are a different matter. Registered non-profits that use the GoFundMe platform are charged 7.9 percent plus $0.30 fee for each donation.

Can a landlord charge you to paint?

Generally, the landlord will have the unit painted between rentals, but when you are a long-term tenant, a painting schedule becomes less obvious. Under these guidelines, a tenant who has lived in a rental unit longer than three years would not be charged for the cost of repainting for normal wear and tear.

What can I charge to my tenants security deposit?

Can a landlord charge for smoking?

No. But your landlord can charge you for damages beyond reasonable wear-and tear, whether the damage is from smoking or any other means. However, if the lease does not prohibit smoking then smoking would be permitted. Absolutely if smoking inside was not allowed in your agreement/lease.

Can a landlord charge extra for pets?

Yes, landlords have the power to charge extra for pets. They cannot charge pet deposits and additional pet rent however they like. If you are required to pay extra money up front to have a pet in your rental unit, then this money is regulated the same way as your typical security deposit.

Does Rover charge a fee?

Beginning in September 2015, bookings by new account holders are charged a service fee amounting to 5-7% of the booking total. Services booked through a Rover account created prior to the date the fee was implemented will not be subject to the owner service fee.

Should I charge a pet fee?

Your state's laws might also dictate how much you charge; however, charging somewhere between $200 and $500 for a one-time pet fee is pretty typical. A “pet fee” is simply the one-time admission price to have a pet in the rental. It doesn't typically cover any damages the pet might cause.

Can you charge a pet fee for a service dog?

Pet fees. Service and assistance animals are not technically pets and owners do not have to pay pet fees. The landlord, however, can charge a security deposit and may still seek money from the tenant if there is any damage caused by the animal to the home.

Can a landlord charge a deposit for a service dog?

Pet fees. Service and assistance animals are not technically pets and owners do not have to pay pet fees. The landlord, however, can charge a security deposit and may still seek money from the tenant if there is any damage caused by the animal to the home.

Can a landlord charge rent for a service dog?

Pet fees. Service and assistance animals are not technically pets and owners do not have to pay pet fees. The landlord, however, can charge a security deposit and may still seek money from the tenant if there is any damage caused by the animal to the home.

Can a landlord charge you for a service dog?

Pet fees. Service and assistance animals are not technically pets and owners do not have to pay pet fees. The landlord, however, can charge a security deposit and may still seek money from the tenant if there is any damage caused by the animal to the home.

Can landlord charge for service animal?

Pet fees. Service and assistance animals are not technically pets and owners do not have to pay pet fees. The landlord, however, can charge a security deposit and may still seek money from the tenant if there is any damage caused by the animal to the home.

Can landlord charge for water in MA?

Under Massachusetts law, a landlord may charge a tenant for water if, and only if, certain conditions are met, and not all of these conditions are widely known. The tenant's unit must be separately submetered by a separate water meter installed by a licensed plumber.

Can a landlord charge for a service dog?

Pet fees. Service and assistance animals are not technically pets and owners do not have to pay pet fees. The landlord, however, can charge a security deposit and may still seek money from the tenant if there is any damage caused by the animal to the home.

Can landlords charge for emotional support animals?

Service and assistance animals are not technically pets and owners do not have to pay pet fees. The landlord, however, can charge a security deposit and may still seek money from the tenant if there is any damage caused by the animal to the home.

Can landlords charge extra for pets?

Yes, landlords have the power to charge extra for pets. They cannot charge pet deposits and additional pet rent however they like. If you are required to pay extra money up front to have a pet in your rental unit, then this money is regulated the same way as your typical security deposit.

Can landlord charge for emotional support animal?

No, emotional support dogs can be any type of breed and are exempt from breed or weight discrimination. Can a landlord charge a pet deposit for an emotional support animal? No, landlords may not charge additional rent or demand a pet deposit for emotional support animals.

Can landlords charge for service animals?

Pet fees. Service and assistance animals are not technically pets and owners do not have to pay pet fees. The landlord, however, can charge a security deposit and may still seek money from the tenant if there is any damage caused by the animal to the home.

What can a landlord charge a tenant for?

Landlords are permitted to deduct from security deposits for damage or excessive filth, but not for ordinary wear and tear. Typically, landlords may charge tenants for any cleaning or repairs necessary to restore the rental unit to its condition at the beginning of the tenancy.

Can landlord charge extra rent for pets?

Yes, landlords have the power to charge extra for pets. They cannot charge pet deposits and additional pet rent however they like. If you are required to pay extra money up front to have a pet in your rental unit, then this money is regulated the same way as your typical security deposit.

Can landlord charge for emotional support animals?

No, emotional support dogs can be any type of breed and are exempt from breed or weight discrimination. Can a landlord charge a pet deposit for an emotional support animal? No, landlords may not charge additional rent or demand a pet deposit for emotional support animals.

Can a landlord charge for an emotional support animal?

No, landlords may not charge additional rent or demand a pet deposit for emotional support animals. Can a landlord ask for proof for my emotional support animal? Yes, a landlord may ask you for an ESA letter from a licensed mental health professional.

How much security deposit can a landlord charge?

Unfurnished rentals have a set limit that cannot exceed two months' worth of rent. For example, if your rent is $1,000 a month, the maximum security deposit you can be asked to pay for an unfurnished place is $2,000. At move-in, your cost could be $3,000 total (deposit plus rent for the first month).

What can a landlord charge for when you move out?

There is no specific standard for how much the landlord can legally deduct from a deposit for any damage. Tenants are required to return the unit to the condition they found it in when they moved in, minus normal wear and tear. Common deductions include damages, cleaning costs, unpaid rent or fees, or utility bills.

Can a landlord charge you to replace the carpet?

A landlord cannot charge a tenant damages for normal wear and tear. A slightly worn carpet or a carpet that can be cleaned professionally is not considered “damaged.”

Can a landlord charge you more than your deposit?

The landlord may charge you for damages costing more than the amount of your deposit. RCW 59.18.060 says that a landlord cannot be held responsible to cover the costs of damages caused by tenants or their guests. The law does not prohibit a landlord from pursuing damage charges.

Can a landlord charge for his own labor?

This allows the landlord to deduct for repairs and return the balance, plus interest, to the tenant. Check your state laws to be sure a landlord is allowed to charge for his own labor as long as it is a reasonable cost.

How much should I charge for a rehoming fee?

On average, this can range from $25 to $100. A rehoming fee can help you recoup charges for vaccinations, spaying, and neutering, and help cover your expenses. But in most cases, the rehoming fee is also a good idea for the dog or cat being rehomed.

Why do landlords charge pet rent?

It's typical for pet rent to range anywhere from $10-$60 per month. Pet security deposits are usually between $100 and $600. For tenants that have service animals because of a disability, they have rights under the Fair Housing Law that prohibit landlords from charging a pet security deposit or rent.

Why you should always charge a rehoming fee?

When rehoming a pet to someone you don't know, it is common to charge a rehoming fee. On average, this can range from $25 to $100. A rehoming fee can help you recoup charges for vaccinations, spaying, and neutering, and help cover your expenses. They want to love and care for the pet and give it a good life.

Can my landlord charge me for an emotional support animal?

No, emotional support dogs can be any type of breed and are exempt from breed or weight discrimination. Can a landlord charge a pet deposit for an emotional support animal? No, landlords may not charge additional rent or demand a pet deposit for emotional support animals.

Can landlord charge more than security deposit California?

Yes, there is a maximum amount of money a landlord can charge a tenant for a security deposit. In California, it's based on whether the unit is furnished. For unfurnished units, the landlord can't charge more than two months' worth of rent.

Do landlords charge more for pets?

Pet rent. Pet rent is a monthly charge in addition to your rent. The fee can vary depending on the number of pets and the type of breed, but averages $10 to $50 per pet. These additional costs can add up fast, so you may try negotiating with your potential landlord.

How much do landlords charge for pets?

Your state's laws might also dictate how much you charge; however, charging somewhere between $200 and $500 for a one-time pet fee is pretty typical. A “pet fee” is simply the one-time admission price to have a pet in the rental. It doesn't typically cover any damages the pet might cause.

What do landlords charge for pets?

In states that set limits, many landlords charge pet rent. This means they add an amount to the monthly rent for pets. For example, if the rent is $550 per month and the applicant wants to bring in their dog, the landlord would charge an extra amount for that, such as $50. The total rent would be $600 per month.

Can landlord charge pet rent for emotional support animal?

Landlords may not prohibit a service animal or emotional support animal from living in the unit. Landlords may not charge the tenant extra "pet" rent or "pet" security deposit for a service or emotional support animal.

How much should a landlord charge for pets?

Your state's laws might also dictate how much you charge; however, charging somewhere between $200 and $500 for a one-time pet fee is pretty typical. A “pet fee” is simply the one-time admission price to have a pet in the rental. It doesn't typically cover any damages the pet might cause.

Can a hotel charge a pet fee for an emotional support animal?

Unfortunately, emotional support animals are prohibited from hotels, motels, restaurants, and other business areas, especially if the respective owners raise concerns regarding them. Some hotel owners may allow you to bring your therapy dogs along. However, they may charge you additional fees for this.

Can a landlord charge a pet deposit for a service animal?

Pet fees. Service and assistance animals are not technically pets and owners do not have to pay pet fees. The landlord, however, can charge a security deposit and may still seek money from the tenant if there is any damage caused by the animal to the home.

How much extra do landlords charge for pets?

Pet rent is a monthly charge in addition to your rent. The fee can vary depending on the number of pets and the type of breed, but averages $10 to $50 per pet. These additional costs can add up fast, so you may try negotiating with your potential landlord.

How much should I charge to clean a house?

The average cost of house cleaning is $25-50 per hour per cleaner. The total price depends on the size of the home and type of cleaning. A 3-bedroom, 2000 square foot home costs $150 to $250 to clean on average, while a one-bedroom apartment starts at $80 to $110.

Can a landlord restrict guests?

According to section 9 of the Schedule in the Residential Tenancy Regulation, your landlord cannot unreasonably restrict guests from entering your rental property or charge you a fee for having guests visit – even if they stay overnight.

Can a landlord deny pets?

A landlord is allowed to ask if you have pets when you move in. They are also allowed to deny your rental application because you have pets. But, after you move in, your landlord cannot evict you just for having a pet, even if your rental agreement has a "no‑pets" clause.

Can a landlord refuse rent?

The landlord cannot refuse the rent unless it is less than the full amount owed as stated on the Pay or Quit Notice aka Three Day Notice. You should immediately mail him a check or money order certified mail return receipt requested along with a note that the law does not allow him to refuse the money. Good luck.

Can a landlord ban smoking?

Answer. There's no right to smoke, so it's legal for landlords to prohibit smoking. And they can adopt a no smoking policy after you move in if they do it right.

How much should I charge for house cleaning?

The average hourly rates for professional house cleaning services in the U.S. is anywhere between $25-$45 an hour. To be competitive with the other cleaning services in your area, you will need to know their prices and how much they charge per hour.

How much do vets charge for cleaning dogs teeth?

$175–$660. When it comes to dog teeth cleaning, an anesthesia-free cleaning will range from $100 to $300, while anesthesia based cleaning costs between $500 and $1,000.

Can a Realtor pay a finder's fee?

In the context of a real estate transaction, a finder's fee (also known as a referral fee) is a fee paid to a person for the introduction of a buyer to a seller that results in a successful sales transaction. Importantly, RESPA makes finder's fees illegal in most residential real estate transactions.

How much do vets charge to clean dogs teeth?

I called them to ask how much they charge to clean a dog's teeth. Although they couldn't give me a specific cost without a pre-dental exam, the estimate was $300 – $500 for a basic teeth cleaning, including the discharge antibiotics, per dog.

How much do vets charge to clean dogs teeth UK?

Treatment for a dog with tooth and gum disease costs an average of £186.52, but can cost upwards of £300 according to vets. The most common course of remedial treatment is a scale and polish treatment at the vets, under anaesthetic, accompanied by regular tooth brushing and using dental food or chews.

What can landlords tell new landlords?

Reaching out to prior landlords will give you relevant insight. After all, prior landlords can tell you about a tenant's behavior. Our rental application requires that tenants provide at least five years or more of residence history along with landlord contact information.

Can a landlord deny a service dog?

No, a landlord cannot refuse access to a service dog as they are protected by the ADA. A service dog is a medical tool and not a pet. There are two types of assistance animals that have special rights regarding housing. The first is service dogs and the second is emotional support animals.

Can a landlord deny a pet?

A landlord cannot deny an ESA simply because they do not allow pets. No, your landlord cannot evict you because they do not want you to have an ESA. This is in direct violation of Fair Housing regulations. You are not required to pay a pet deposit or monthly fee.

Can a landlord refuse a service dog?

No, a landlord cannot refuse access to a service dog as they are protected by the ADA. A service dog is a medical tool and not a pet. There are two types of assistance animals that have special rights regarding housing.

Can a landlord deny a therapy dog?

No, a landlord cannot refuse access to a service dog as they are protected by the ADA. A service dog is a medical tool and not a pet.

Can a landlord refuse a dog?

Currently, under the Consumer Rights Act (2015) landlords can only refuse for pets to be kept in their property based on reasonable evidence. They, however, note they are open to discuss this with landlord and tenant bodies.

How much does a vet charge to clean a dog's teeth UK?

Average Cost to Clean Your Dog's Teeth 2019. The average cost of a professional dog teeth cleaning (scale & polish) in the UK is around £233. A professional dog teeth cleaning is recommended once a year to help stave off plaque and tartar that can lead to gum inflammation, periodontal disease and even tooth loss.

Can a landlord deny a service animal?

No, a landlord cannot refuse access to a service dog as they are protected by the ADA. A service dog is a medical tool and not a pet. There are two types of assistance animals that have special rights regarding housing. The first is service dogs and the second is emotional support animals.

Can a landlord change pet policy?

The landlord can also issue a 30-day notice of change in terms of tenancy on a month-to-month rental agreement with a new rule that no longer allows pets (just like they can change any other rules with proper notice). Actually, tenants with pets are a great "target market" for landlords.

Can a landlord deny an ESA?

A landlord cannot deny an ESA simply because they do not allow pets. No, your landlord cannot evict you because they do not want you to have an ESA. This is in direct violation of Fair Housing regulations. You are required to request reasonable accommodations for your ESA before bringing them into your apartment.

Can a landlord deny emotional support animal?

Can a Landlord Deny an Emotional Support Animal? An ESA is a medical tool and not a pet. Under Federal Fair Housing Laws, Emotional Support Animals must have access to apartments with a no-pet policy and are exempt from pet-related fees. Emotional Support Animals help aid with an emotional or mental disability.

Can a landlord enforce no pets?

A landlord is allowed to ask if you have pets when you move in. But, after you move in, your landlord cannot evict you just for having a pet, even if your rental agreement has a "no‑pets" clause. In Ontario, no‑pets clauses in rental agreements are void. This means they cannot be enforced.

Can a landlord deny pets Ontario?

They are also allowed to deny your rental application because you have pets. But, after you move in, your landlord cannot evict you just for having a pet, even if your rental agreement has a "no‑pets" clause. In Ontario, no‑pets clauses in rental agreements are void. This means they cannot be enforced.

Can a landlord say no smoking?

However, even if a tenant signs a lease that says no smoking, and later smoke, you cannot evict them just because they broke their promise made in the lease. The clause should include any kind of smoking. Also make sure you prohibit smoking from any balcony, patio, or common areas of the building.

How much deposit can a landlord ask?

The most common by far is for landlords to ask for a deposit amounting to 1 month's rent. For example if you charge £750 per month in rent then you would ask for £750 as a deposit.

Can a vet charge for a prescription?

Getting A Prescription: You can request your vet for a prescription after they have seen your animal, unfortunately, vets can charge for writing a prescription. It needs to be medication prescribed for your animal's needs or condition. You can't just ask for a bottle of Metacam 'just in case'.

How can a landlord negotiate rent?

Here are some ways you can go about negotiating your rent price: Ask the landlord if rent price is open to discussion. Highlight your strengths as a tenant. Inquire about extending the lease. Offer to end the lease in the summer. Research the property's value. Be open to compromise. Negotiate in person, follow up in writing.

Can a landlord legally say no pets?

Generally the landlord cannot even enter the home without giving the tenant notice except in an emergency, unless the lease specifies otherwise. Even if your lease does not allow pets, you may have a legal right to keep your pet.

What can a landlord deduct from deposit?

Your landlord can't deduct money from your deposit for normal wear and tear, but they can for damage.

Can a landlord refuse to allow pets?

A landlord cannot deny an ESA simply because they do not allow pets. No, your landlord cannot evict you because they do not want you to have an ESA. This is in direct violation of Fair Housing regulations. You are required to request reasonable accommodations for your ESA before bringing them into your apartment.

Can landlord refuse pets?

Renting in Victoria still not pet-friendly. Under current laws, landlords can include a no-pets clause in any rental agreement. The changes would give tenants the right to keep pets, provided they get the landlord's written consent first. Landlords would not be allowed to unreasonably refuse a request for consent.

Can a landlord say no pets?

According to the Landlord and Tenant Board website, landlords are allowed to refuse to rent to someone with a pet. However, a “no pets” clause in a lease is void, so signing a lease that has one doesn't give your landlord the right to kick you out if you move an animal in.

Can a landlord refuse to take rent?

There are some situations where a landlord can legally refuse to take your payment, other than partial payment. If you have already been served an eviction notice after not curing a contract deficiency as notified, the landlord will not accept further rent payments from you, except for rental arrears.

Can a landlord say no pets allowed?

According to the Landlord and Tenant Board website, landlords are allowed to refuse to rent to someone with a pet. However, a “no pets” clause in a lease is void, so signing a lease that has one doesn't give your landlord the right to kick you out if you move an animal in.

Can a landlord say no alcohol?

No, a landlord cannot prohibit alcohol in a rental property. That is unless the alcohol is being consumed by underage drinkers.

Can a landlord say no smoking outside?

Most states support a landlord's right to designate his or her rental property as smoke-free. Smokers are not a protected legal class and smoking is not a right, so most of the laws don't stop a landlord from implementing regulations and restrictions about smoking.

What's a rehoming fee?

When rehoming a pet to someone you don't know, it is common to charge a rehoming fee. On average, this can range from $25 to $100. When a potential adoptive parent is willing to pay a rehoming fee, it shows that they are serious about adopting your pet.

Is a pet fee monthly?

As for how we do things, we always charge both a monthly pet rent and a non refundable pet fee for each pet. Our non refundable pet fees range from $150 - $300 per month and our monthly pet rent ranges from $15 - $30 per pet per month.

Is a finder's fee legal?

Finder's Fee Law and Legal Definition. A finder's fee is a fee paid to someone who acts as an intermediary for another party in a transaction. However, state laws, which vary by state, may also provide an exemption for certain individuals, allowing them to be compensated without the necessity of licensure.

What is a pet fee?

Determining whether to charge pet rent, a pet deposit or pet fees can be confusing for a landlord. A deposit is a type of contract in which an item of value (the deposit) is held to be returned upon performance of a deed. A pet fee is an amount charged because the tenant has a pet. A pet fee is non-refundable.

Can landlord forbid pets?

A landlord is allowed to ask if you have pets when you move in. They are also allowed to deny your rental application because you have pets. But, after you move in, your landlord cannot evict you just for having a pet, even if your rental agreement has a "no‑pets" clause.

Can landlords refuse pets?

According to the Landlord and Tenant Board website, landlords are allowed to refuse to rent to someone with a pet. However, a “no pets” clause in a lease is void, so signing a lease that has one doesn't give your landlord the right to kick you out if you move an animal in.

What is a rehome fee?

What is a Rehoming Fee? When rehoming a pet to someone you don't know, it is common to charge a rehoming fee. On average, this can range from $25 to $100. A rehoming fee can help you recoup charges for vaccinations, spaying, and neutering, and help cover your expenses.

Can a landlord evict a tenant for having a pet?

A landlord cannot evict a tenant because they have a pet in violation of a “no pets” clause in the rental agreement. However, a landlord may have grounds to apply to evict a tenant for having a pet, if the pet damages the property or bothers other tenants.

Can a landlord evict you for having a service dog?

You could be evicted if it is prohibited in your lease. This would be a non-rent violation. The type of notice the landlord can give you, and whether you have a chance to get rid of the pet and avoid an eviction, will depend on several factors. For more information, please see Eviction.

Can a landlord have a no pet policy?

A landlord cannot deny an ESA simply because they do not allow pets. No, your landlord cannot evict you because they do not want you to have an ESA. This is in direct violation of Fair Housing regulations. You are not required to pay a pet deposit or monthly fee.

Can a landlord make a tenant pay for repairs?

Tenant-Caused Damages. Most landlords will repair tenant-caused damages and then bill the tenants or add charges to their monthly rent. Additionally, landlords are often able to use tenant security deposits for repair of damages that don't result from normal wear and tear.

Can landlord deny service dog?

No, a landlord cannot refuse access to a service dog as they are protected by the ADA. A service dog is a medical tool and not a pet. There are two types of assistance animals that have special rights regarding housing. The first is service dogs and the second is emotional support animals.

Can landlords refuse service animals?

No, a landlord cannot refuse access to a service dog as they are protected by the ADA. A service dog is a medical tool and not a pet. There are two types of assistance animals that have special rights regarding housing. The first is service dogs and the second is emotional support animals.

Can landlord say no pets?

According to the Landlord and Tenant Board website, landlords are allowed to refuse to rent to someone with a pet. However, a “no pets” clause in a lease is void, so signing a lease that has one doesn't give your landlord the right to kick you out if you move an animal in.